Phone: (860) 946-0698Hours: 11 AM to 7 PM Eastern | Monday - Friday
All Categories
    Menu Close

    Vienna Symphonic Library Synchron Drums I Upgrade to Full Library Download

    Synchron Drums I offers a selection from Vienna’s Synchron Percussion I collection, including snare drum, bass drum, eight concert toms, and two tambourines.MAC/PC
    $90.00 excl tax
    i h

    Synchron Drums I offers a selection from Vienna’s Synchron Percussion I collection, including snare drum, bass drum, eight concert toms, and two tambourines.

    The snare drum (Kolberg “Piano-Forte”) covers the treble register within the orchestral percussion section. The typical sound comes from its batter (top) head combined with the resonance head at the bottom and the attached metal wires, called “snares”. The snare drum was recorded with and without the snares engaged. The Vienna team captured the instrument in utmost detail; single strokes in five positions on the drum, in up to 16 dynamic layers and eight variants, rolls in various dynamics and lengths, flams and variations with brushes, rods and mallets. Thanks to Vienna’s new release sample technology, even crescendo and diminuendo rolls that are available in various lengths and intensities can be stopped at any time with the matching release sample being triggered. They’ve also captured hits played on the shell as well as “stick on stick” variations.

    The bass drum (Kolberg “Dicke Bertha”) covers the lowest range in the orchestral percussion section and plays an essential role in almost all western musical styles. The Vienna team captured a wide variety of articulations, such as single strokes in 16 dynamic layers, various rolls as well as effects with three different mallets. What’s more, they’ve also recorded some extra low tunings that you can literally feel with your whole body. To round out the collection they’ve added FX sounds that can be a source of inspiration and are best suited for creating all-new soundscapes, e.g., by striking an elastic rubber ball (“superball”) over the head of the drum. It is incredible how dynamic and highly energetic Stage A of the Synchron Stage Vienna is in the low and sub-bass frequencies. Just be careful with the volume knob when you check out the low velocities on your speakers. Those sub frequencies could lead to serious damage when played back too loudly!

    The concert toms (Yamaha CT-9000 series) include eight suspended tom-toms with top and bottom heads, set up as a battery. Single strokes were recorded with four different beaters (sticks, rods, brushes and mallets) in various positions on the heads with up to 16 dynamic layers. The instruments were also treated with rasping sticks on their rims, resulting in all-new sounds.

    The tambourine is a type of frame drum with pairs of small metal disks in slots around the frame. It is mainly played with the fingers, the palm, or the fist. The Vienna team recorded two different instruments (Lefima 2091-A and Kolberg 2030 DW) and captured single strokes, flams, tremolos (“shakes”) and thumb rolls in various velocities and lengths.

    4 Instruments – 12 Microphones

    All instruments were recorded using 12 microphones. You may select from four microphone positions (Standard Library) or seven different microphone positions (Full Library) and mix them to your liking, directly in the Vienna Instruments and Vienna Instruments Pro players or using the mixing hosts Vienna Ensemble and Vienna Ensemble Pro. Use the included and perfectly fine-tuned presets as a starting point for your own sonic creations. The performances in Stage A were captured in stereo using a Decca tree, and additional microphone arrays were utilized for 5.1 surround and Auro 3D 9.1.

    Microphone PositionStandard LibraryFull Library
    Close Mic(Mono)
    Mid Layer MicStereo (L/R)
    Main/Room MicDecca Tree Stereo (L/R)
    Main/Room MicDecca Tree Mono (Center)
    Main SurroundStereo (L/R)
    High Stereo (3D)Stereo (L/R)
    High Surround (3D)Stereo (L/R)

    Standard Library (“Stereo Library Download”) – includes the complete set of articulations, recorded from 4 individual microphone positions that can be used for stereo mixing:

    • Close Mic – Mono
    • Mid Layer Mic – Stereo (L/R)
    • Main/Room Mic  – Decca Tree Stereo (L/R)
    • Main/Room Mic  – Decca Tree Mono (Center)

    Full Library (“Stereo and Multi Library Download”) – includes 3 additional microphone positions that can be used for stereo, 5.1 surround and Auro 3D 9.1 mixing (7 mic positions in total):

    • Close Mic – Mono
    • Mid Layer Mic – Stereo (L/R)
    • Main/Room Mic  – Decca Tree Stereo (L/R)
    • Main/Room Mic  – Decca Tree Mono (Center)
    • Main Surround – Stereo (L/R)
    • High Stereo (3D) – Stereo (L/R)
    • High Surround (3D) – Stereo (L/R)

    Please note that the main surround microphone settings may also be used instead of the main stereo room mics in order to achieve a wider, more ambient mix.

    Minimum System Requirements

    • PC Windows 7/8/10 (latest update, 32/64-bit), Intel Core 2 Duo or AMD Athlon 64 X2
    • Mac OS X 10.10 (latest update) or higher, Intel Core 2 Duo
    • 8 GB RAM (16 GB recommended)
    • VIENNA KEY (Vienna Symphonic Library USB protection device) or other USB eLicenser (e.g., from Steinberg or Arturia)

    Other configurations may work but are not actively supported.


    • Windows 7/8/10 (latest update, 64-bit), Intel i5/i7/Xeon
    • Mac OS X 10.12 (or higher), Intel i5/i7/Xeon
    • 16 GB RAM
    • SSD or fast separate hard drive (7200 rpm or faster)
    • AU/VST/AAX Native compatible host (also works stand-alone)
    • AAX version requires Pro Tools 10.3.5 or higher
    • 88 key master keyboard

    Hard Drive Space Requirements

    • Standard Library: 35 GB (individual microphone data can be removed)
    • Full Library: 70 GB (individual microphone data can be removed)


    Signup for our newsletter below and get $10 off your next order.